View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
ragipselcuk
Joined: 21 Apr 2008 Posts: 8
|
1mv resolution 8-bit adc |
Posted: Mon Apr 21, 2008 7:23 am |
|
|
I want to calculate 1mv sensitivity for 8-bit adc.but I cant do it.
please, help me!
counter=0;
do {
delay_us(10);
ADGODONE = 1;
while(ADGODONE);
aDeger =make16(0,ADRESS);
aDegerGecici=aDegerGecici+aDeger;
counter++;
}while(counter < 10);
adeger= (aDegerGecici*125)>>6;
Regards. |
|
|
Ttelmah Guest
|
|
Posted: Mon Apr 21, 2008 10:31 am |
|
|
First, use the compiler functions. Just use 'read_ad' to get the ADC value.
Then, stop and think. 8bit ADC. 256 steps. For '1mV resolution', you could only cover a full scale 'range', of 0.256v. Read the chip's data sheet. Most (all) chips, require the end to end voltage between the ADC Vref values, to be _at least_ 1.8v. Most require 2.5v, and some older chips about 3v.
You will _never_ get '1mV resolution', with the ADC in 8bit mode, over these ranges.
Best Wishes |
|
|
Matro Guest
|
|
Posted: Mon Apr 21, 2008 10:53 am |
|
|
Ttelmah wrote: | First, use the compiler functions. Just use 'read_ad' to get the ADC value.
Then, stop and think. 8bit ADC. 256 steps. For '1mV resolution', you could only cover a full scale 'range', of 0.256v. Read the chip's data sheet. Most (all) chips, require the end to end voltage between the ADC Vref values, to be _at least_ 1.8v. Most require 2.5v, and some older chips about 3v.
You will _never_ get '1mV resolution', with the ADC in 8bit mode, over these ranges.
Best Wishes |
Even with a 10-bit range, you can't reach a 1mV resolution...
Matro. |
|
|
Izzy Prad Guest
|
|
Posted: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:11 pm |
|
|
There are ADC chips with 16, 22, 24 or even 32 bit(I think I saw at Newark). That might solve your problem if you really need that accurate. |
|
|
RLScott
Joined: 10 Jul 2007 Posts: 465
|
Re: 1mv resolution 8-bit adc |
Posted: Mon Apr 21, 2008 6:57 pm |
|
|
The most straightforward solution is to add an amplifier with a gain of about 20.
Robert Scott
Real-Time Specialties |
|
|
ragipselcuk
Joined: 21 Apr 2008 Posts: 8
|
|
Posted: Mon Apr 21, 2008 11:35 pm |
|
|
I have got a card. Somebody designed this card and card has got AN0,AN1,AN2 and AN2=AN3=Vref. Used pic16F72. It works 1mV resolution, I can't make that so I asked this question.
I added three pots to AN0,AN1,AN2. When AN1 or AN0 passed the AN3, card proceed the conversion with 1mV resolution.
I didn't understand, I research every theory, but I can't find anything.
If you have got a idea, please tell me.
Thanks everyone. |
|
|
RLScott
Joined: 10 Jul 2007 Posts: 465
|
|
Posted: Tue Apr 22, 2008 4:47 am |
|
|
ragipselcuk wrote: | I have got a card. Somebody designed this card and card has got AN0,AN1,AN2 and AN2=AN3=Vref. Used pic16F72. It works 1mV resolution, I can't make that so I asked this question... |
The card you have probably has amplifiers on it to raise the AN0, AN1,.. inputs before they are connected to the PIC.
Robert Scott
Real-Time Specialties |
|
|
ragipselcuk
Joined: 21 Apr 2008 Posts: 8
|
|
Posted: Tue Apr 22, 2008 5:20 am |
|
|
The card hasn't got a amplifier, serial resistor only connected with analog inputs...circuit is very simpler...
Thanks... |
|
|
RLScott
Joined: 10 Jul 2007 Posts: 465
|
|
Posted: Tue Apr 22, 2008 7:50 am |
|
|
ragipselcuk wrote: | The card hasn't got a amplifier, serial resistor only connected with analog inputs...circuit is very simpler...
Thanks... |
Then it does not have 1 mv. resolution. If you think it does have 1 mv. resolution, then what is the evidence?
Robert Scott
Real-Time Specialties |
|
|
|