|
|
View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
ferrumvir
Joined: 01 Feb 2006 Posts: 64 Location: England
|
Masked output to port. |
Posted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 8:42 am |
|
|
Hi,
I'm wondering that the best solution is. I need to set half the outputs of a port from a data byte, speed is the most important factor.
The following is my current solution to the problem.
Code: |
#use FAST_IO
#INLINE
void set_EXT_Mux( int em )
{
if(em&0x01)output_high(PIN_C0); else output_low(PIN_C0);
if(em&0x02)output_high(PIN_C1); else output_low(PIN_C1);
if(em&0x04)output_high(PIN_C2); else output_low(PIN_C2);
if(em&0x08)output_high(PIN_C3); else output_low(PIN_C3);
}
|
Using "output_bit(pin,value)" does not appear to give any advantage as the "value" would still have to be otained from the byte.
But "output_c(value)" does give significant gains in speed. The problem is I only want to use the first 4 (maybe 5) bits of data, PIN_C6 and PIN_C7 are used for the RS232 communications and I can't' have that interfered with. Is output_c intelligent enough to ignore these pins?
Or have I hit the best solution already?
Thanks Scott |
|
|
treitmey
Joined: 23 Jan 2004 Posts: 1094 Location: Appleton,WI USA
|
|
Posted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 9:32 am |
|
|
I was thinking along these lines
Code: | #include <16F877.h>
#device *=16 //not needed for now.
#use delay(clock=4000000)
#fuses hs,nowdt,nolvp,protect,put,brownout
#use rs232(baud=19200,xmit=PIN_B3,INVERT,stream=DEBUG)
#case
#zero_ram
#use fast_io(C)
struct my_struc_def_portc
{
int1 my_stuf:3;//lsb
int1 unused_part_of_port:5;//msb
};
struct my_struc_def_portc my_output;
struct my_struc_def_portc my_tris;
#byte my_output= 0x07 //note: no semicolin 0x07=C0 on a 16F877
#byte my_tris = 0x87 //note: no semicolin 0x87=C0 on a 16F877
//======================= Main ==============================
void main(void){
my_tris.my_stuf=0x00;//set to output
//set all outputs to 1.
my_output.my_stuf=0x0F&0b00000111;//overlay variable, masking off unused bits
while(1){
}
}
|
|
|
|
Mark
Joined: 07 Sep 2003 Posts: 2838 Location: Atlanta, GA
|
|
Posted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 9:55 am |
|
|
There is no need to mask off the unused portion. The compiler will handle this. Also, you should use the standard int size when declaring a portion of a variable.
Code: |
#include <16F877.h>
#device *=16 //not needed for now.
#use delay(clock=4000000)
#fuses hs,nowdt,nolvp,protect,put,brownout
#use rs232(baud=19200,xmit=PIN_B3,INVERT,stream=DEBUG)
#case
#zero_ram
#use fast_io(C)
struct my_struc_def_portc
{
int8 my_stuf:4;//lsb
int8 unused_part_of_port:4;//msb
};
struct my_struc_def_portc my_output;
#locate my_output= 0x07 //note: no semicolin 0x07=C0 on a 16F877
struct my_struc_def_portc my_tris;
#locate my_tris = 0x87 //note: no semicolin 0x87=C0 on a 16F877
//======================= Main ==============================
void main(void){
my_tris.my_stuf=0x00;//set to output
//set all outputs to 1.
my_output.my_stuf=0x0F;
while(1){
}
}
|
|
|
|
treitmey
Joined: 23 Jan 2004 Posts: 1094 Location: Appleton,WI USA
|
|
Posted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 10:19 am |
|
|
Thanks for the fix up. I didn't want to find hardware to test it. But it compiles.
And as my VB programmers always say"It compiled, ship it". |
|
|
ferrumvir
Joined: 01 Feb 2006 Posts: 64 Location: England
|
|
Posted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 7:43 am |
|
|
Hi Thanks for the help,
Sorry it took me so long to dig through and understand what was going on, very interesting looking at the list file.
It took me considerable amount of time to find the location in memory for the register, for my chip!
I'm now down from 60 unstructions to 4! Fantastic. Thanks
one last question:
Then using the hardware UART on the PINS C6,C7 does the content of Register PORTC:6 and PORTC:7 have any effect at all? i.e. Does the UART by-pass/ignore this register? or does the harware UART use this register therefore it is vitally important to do the above?
The reason I ask is that for the 4 instruction cycles where we take a copy of this register and modify part of it before putting it back, if the hardware changes it in this time, do we not introduce glitches?
I suspect that this register is bypassed and therefore I could just write to the whole PORTC register, knowing that the hardware will override/ignore any changes I make to the PORTC:6&7 bits?
4 instructions down to 1?... Yes/no?
Thanks for you're help
Cheers Scott |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
|