|
|
View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Richard Arroyo
Joined: 04 Apr 2006 Posts: 22 Location: Sebastopol, CA
|
|
Posted: Sat Nov 04, 2006 1:48 am |
|
|
I was writing a program for an 18f452 used in a test fixture to monitor a few analog lines and frequency. A few floats and 8 bit variables were used. Using PCHW 3.249 the program complied and worked fine until I added one more variable. The pic would then hang up on the first Delay_ms() function. Only 20% ROM and 8% RAM was used. I tested program using PCHW 4.013 and it worked perfectly despite all of it's issues. This is a fairly simple program and I've written FFT and DFT algorithms using PCHW 3.249 with no problems. I'll have to analyse the ASM output list to see where the fault lies.
Quote: |
I have been asking CCS about 33F and 24F support.
|
Hopefully, next year support might be available.
Expect it to be bugged up a little.
I suppose If I get impatient I could pop
$1k on MPLAB C30 or HI-TECH dsPIC.
I could write my own dsPIC C compiler but
with time I have available it would be a while. _________________ RAA |
|
|
Richard Arroyo
Joined: 04 Apr 2006 Posts: 22 Location: Sebastopol, CA
|
|
Posted: Tue Nov 07, 2006 7:32 pm |
|
|
I was able to find time to continue where I left off.
Somehow the .hex output file was being badly corrupted.
Today, I recompiled with v3.249 and no corruption occurred. Perhaps there was garbage in my computer's ram at the time of the problem. _________________ RAA |
|
|
Dinesh
Joined: 15 Jul 2005 Posts: 22 Location: UK
|
Version 4.015 IDE Problem |
Posted: Sat Nov 18, 2006 4:27 pm |
|
|
Version 4.015 has caused frustrating problem, repeatable on two different workstations (one XP Pro SP2 and Windows 2000 SP4).
On opening a project and trying to select the first document creates a problem.
The document is already loaded as per last state. By clicking in the workspace editor area, I get access violation at in the module pcw.exe at same point on both system at 004D71E5 in module pcw.exe
The only way to over come this is manually select the editor area using keyboard - tabs etc. (i.e. don't click on editor area to begin edit). Once in the editor, you can make changes. There after, the clicking to select the document works! _________________ W2k sp4 512MB (Motherboard:ASUS A7S8X) |
|
|
RSO
Joined: 24 Oct 2006 Posts: 6
|
|
Posted: Sat Nov 18, 2006 8:37 pm |
|
|
Thanks for the suggestion. It works. |
|
|
Billy Guest
|
Annoying IDE behaviour |
Posted: Mon Nov 20, 2006 12:01 pm |
|
|
When I put a tab in my code on a line with no other text the IDE deletes the tab when I move to a new line. I'm finding this very frustrating, possibly because of the way I write code, but I don't see why it needs to do this - I frequently add tabs to blank lines within functions prior to writing code and they used to stay where they were. Its like using MS Word in the way it descides these things for you.
Anyone else find this little issue annoying, any chance of it being 'fixed'
Oh and by the way the DSPics I bought a while ago in anticipation of being able to write C code for them have started to fossilise . . . |
|
|
Richard Arroyo
Joined: 04 Apr 2006 Posts: 22 Location: Sebastopol, CA
|
|
Posted: Wed Nov 22, 2006 1:21 am |
|
|
Well, I've started using Microchip's C30 compiler and it's not all that bad; however, it's rather clunky getting everything set up for the first time.
The manuals and data sheets are spread across 10, 700 page pdf's. The MPLAB IDE is simple, efficient and doesn't try to figure out what one is doing while typing (Microsoft paperclip mode).
Of course you get more bang for the buck with the CCS
PCWH package and it's better suited for smaller projects. I just hope the CCS v4 compiler doesn't turn into a lead weight.
I've managed to program a dsPic30f4013 ok. At 30MIPs those IC's draw around 160ma and get toasty warm . _________________ RAA |
|
|
noizy
Joined: 17 Sep 2003 Posts: 7 Location: Vienna, Austria
|
The lovely V4 IDE |
Posted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 10:27 am |
|
|
Finally, I finished a large 18F4550 project with V4: Instead of buying a large pack of spam to survive using the V4 editor, I switched to MPLAB with just the CCS PCWH compiler. No more TAB or UNDO headaches, no lost sourcecode - I should have dumped the V4 IDE earlier.
The only drawback is the missing mouse-over-variable function in the MPLAB debugger. |
|
|
neil
Joined: 08 Sep 2003 Posts: 128
|
Addressmod? |
Posted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 10:54 am |
|
|
Have CCS abandoned addressmod or typemod completely? I am assuming somebody has actually reported it formally to them as being broken? It was mentioned near the beginning of this post. The problem being that it never makes the calls to the read/write functions, so returns garbage!
It would be really convenient to use for storing non-volatile variables to E� without having to worry about placing them there manually! ie. being lazy!!
Neil. |
|
|
treitmey
Joined: 23 Jan 2004 Posts: 1094 Location: Appleton,WI USA
|
|
Posted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 12:23 pm |
|
|
Yes I sent them the bug. the email ref below is ccsstatus_at_ccsinfo.com (replace__at_)
Quote: | Should you wish to check on the status of your e-mail, you can
send another e-mail with the subject line:
{6H6361}
This will cause an automatic response during business hours. Please do not include any other information in these messages as
they will be discarded without being read.
The current status is as follows:
Your e-mail has been assigned to someone in C Tech Support.
The e-mail has been reviewed, however, an answer is not
yet ready. A priority has not yet been determined for this issue.
|
CODE EDITED
Code: |
#include <16F877A.h>
#device *=16
#fuses hs,nowdt,noprotect,nolvp,put
//#use delay(clock=20000000)
#use delay(clock=11059200)
#use rs232(baud=19200,xmit=PIN_E2,invert,stream=debug,disable_ints)
#case
#zero_ram
void DataEE_Write(int32 address, int8 * data, int8 size){
//fprintf(DEBUG,"W-A=%lu, S=%u\n\r",address,size);
fprintf(DEBUG,"Write\n\r");
}
void DataEE_Read(int32 address, int8 * data, int8 size){
//fprintf(DEBUG,"R-A=%lu, S=%u\n\r",address,size);
fprintf(DEBUG,"Read\n\r");
}
typemod <,DataEE_Read,DataEE_Write,0x00,0xFF> DataEE;
//addressmod (DataEE,DataEE_Read,DataEE_Write,0x00,0xFF);
char DataEE addr;
main(){
//char DataEE addr;
int8 temp;
fprintf(DEBUG,"Start\n\r");
addr=35;//write
temp=addr;//read
fprintf(DEBUG,"T=%u\n\r",temp);
while(1);
}
|
Last edited by treitmey on Wed Dec 13, 2006 4:33 pm; edited 3 times in total |
|
|
Storic
Joined: 03 Dec 2005 Posts: 182 Location: Australia SA
|
|
Posted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 4:17 pm |
|
|
from the above code I change
Code: | typemod <DataEE_Read> DataEE;
|
to:
Code: | typemod (DataEE,DataEE_Read,DataEE_Write,5,0xff);
|
as per the help example (typemod)
Quote: |
// addressmod (name,read_function,write_function,start_address,end_address);
addressmod (DataEE,DataEE_Read,DataEE_Write,5,0xff; // would define a region called DataEE between
|
It compiles OK however I dont know if this is correct, I have never used typemod and would not know what to expect when testing.
ANdrew _________________ What has been learnt if you make the same mistake? |
|
|
treitmey
Joined: 23 Jan 2004 Posts: 1094 Location: Appleton,WI USA
|
|
Posted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 4:36 pm |
|
|
I edited the above code((3 times)) got it through my thick head the HTML
checkbox problem was bitting me.
compiling isn't the issue, calling the write function is the issue.
V3.249 works OK
Quote: | Start
Write
Read
T=0
|
V4.017 is bad, no write
|
|
|
Storic
Joined: 03 Dec 2005 Posts: 182 Location: Australia SA
|
|
Posted: Fri Dec 15, 2006 6:44 am |
|
|
Yes I see what you are saying.
I looked at the ASM under 4.018 amd 3.249 and yes no ASM on the "void DataEE_Write(int32 address, int8 * data, int8 size)" however I try the following.
Code: | typemod (DataEE,DataEE_Read,DataEE_Write,5,0xff); |
as there was no write when I reversed DataEE_Read and DataEE_Write, to
Code: | typemod (DataEE,DataEE_Write,DataEE_Read,5,0xff); |
I now seen the write however but no read.
hmmm!
ANdrew _________________ What has been learnt if you make the same mistake? |
|
|
Storic
Joined: 03 Dec 2005 Posts: 182 Location: Australia SA
|
|
Posted: Fri Dec 15, 2006 7:57 am |
|
|
some more additional information. I can force the compiler to give me the write code by adding "DataEE_Write(0,0,0);" in the Main Prog, (initializing)
now the ASM has the code for "DataEE_Write"
Code: | #include <16F877A.h>
#device *=16
#fuses hs,nowdt,noprotect,nolvp,put
//#use delay(clock=20000000)
#use delay(clock=11059200)
#use rs232(baud=19200,xmit=PIN_E2,invert,stream=debug,disable_ints)
#case
#zero_ram
void DataEE_Write(int32 address, int8 * data, int8 size){
//fprintf(DEBUG,"W-A=%lu, S=%u\n\r",address,size);
fprintf(DEBUG,"Write\n\r");
}
void DataEE_Read(int32 address, int8 * data, int8 size){
//fprintf(DEBUG,"R-A=%lu, S=%u\n\r",address,size);
fprintf(DEBUG,"Read\n\r");
}
typemod <DataEE_Read> DataEE;
//addressmod (DataEE,DataEE_Read,DataEE_Write,0x00,0xFF);
char DataEE addr;
main(){
//char DataEE addr;
int8 temp;
// DataEE_Read(0,0,0);
DataEE_Write(0,0,0); // added to force the ASM conversion
fprintf(DEBUG,"Start\n\r");
addr=35;//write
temp=addr;//read
fprintf(DEBUG,"T=%u\n\r",temp);
while(1);
} |
Even thoe I can force the code to see the DataEE_Read/write, I cant get the "addr=35;//write" to work (no ASM generated.)
ANdrew _________________ What has been learnt if you make the same mistake? |
|
|
Guest
|
what do i do now? |
Posted: Thu Dec 21, 2006 10:01 am |
|
|
Just ordered version 4 Pcw only to find out that its version 3 that don't have the bugs
i have only got a 30 day update as i can't afford to buy for a year
when the bugs finally gets sorted my 30 days would have being over
what would you do if you are in my shoes
Donna |
|
|
pirev
Joined: 19 Mar 2005 Posts: 13 Location: Bulgaria
|
4 is to ugly and and uncomroftable |
Posted: Fri Dec 22, 2006 5:07 am |
|
|
Versions 4.xxx are horror IDE, I can't see such IDE from yers They are to ulgy and uncomfortable Why CCS was drop IDE interface from previous versions ? After every switch to another application, 4.xxx IDE lost input focus and user must click with mouse to get input focus.
And these big menus, they are used to mach space from display.
This is too uncomfortable ... I don't have words.
I was switched back to 3.249 IDE while CCS IDE will stand friendliness. I will use CCS C compiler versions 4.xxx only with MPLAB.
I'm sorry, but this is horror IDE ... |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
|