View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Kevin Snelling
Joined: 12 Sep 2003 Posts: 3 Location: Cambridge (UK)
|
Custom front end for ICD |
Posted: Fri Jul 16, 2004 2:50 am |
|
|
Does any one know if there are any DLL calls (or the like) so that I can provide my own interface for programming the device. My client wants to program his instrument on the factory floor (low volume unit) and the operator just wants a PROGRAM button, in other words my own version of the ICD control program.
Thanks. |
|
|
Neutone
Joined: 08 Sep 2003 Posts: 839 Location: Houston
|
|
Posted: Fri Jul 16, 2004 7:56 am |
|
|
You can use an icon on the desktop that has the HEX file in it's paramaters.
"C:\Program Files\picc\Icd.exe -TC:\Source\Device_Name.HEX"
This will give you status indicators and close when complete. |
|
|
Kevin Snelling
Joined: 12 Sep 2003 Posts: 3 Location: Cambridge (UK)
|
Re:Custom front end for ICD |
Posted: Fri Jul 16, 2004 1:53 pm |
|
|
Thanks. Is there a way I can spot an error, does ICD have a return code or is there a log file? Do you know if there is a list of command line options?
Thanks. |
|
|
Neutone
Joined: 08 Sep 2003 Posts: 839 Location: Houston
|
|
Posted: Fri Jul 16, 2004 9:39 pm |
|
|
If I remember correctly I got that gem while on the phone to tech support. If there is an error while programming an error message will be displayed showing what was read back that does not match the HEX file. I have a test station that does full circuit testing using an application written in VB that calles this using the shell command. The VB app attempts communication with the circuit and then loads new firmware on failed communication or old firmware response. The VB app continues when the circuit begins communications or fails with a timeout. |
|
|
Kevin Snelling
Joined: 12 Sep 2003 Posts: 3 Location: Cambridge (UK)
|
|
Posted: Sat Jul 17, 2004 2:27 pm |
|
|
It soulds like you are doing something very similar to what I plan. How does your VB app spot a fail, is it simply that you can't communicate with the device?
Thanks. |
|
|
Neutone
Joined: 08 Sep 2003 Posts: 839 Location: Houston
|
|
Posted: Sat Jul 17, 2004 2:53 pm |
|
|
Yes it's just that simple. If the serial communications fails there is a problem beyond the scope of an assembly person. I use a PMD-1208LS from http://www.measurementcomputing.com to test the IO points after estabilishing communications. |
|
|
Guest
|
|
Posted: Sun Jul 18, 2004 2:00 pm |
|
|
Thanks |
|
|
|