View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
ghamblin
Joined: 02 Aug 2015 Posts: 38 Location: Tucson
|
64bit Linux |
Posted: Sun Apr 21, 2019 4:18 pm |
|
|
Hi All,
Is anyone running CCS in 64 bit Linux? I keep getting a segmentation fault on startup.
See below:
Code: |
glenn@glenn-LX6820:~$ ccsc
Runtime error 0 at FFBB8284
Segmentation fault (core dumped)
glenn@glenn-LX6820:~$
|
I just want to know if it's the 64bit Linux that's the problem. I have run it for years in the 32-bit environment.
Thanks
Glenn _________________ -Glenn |
|
|
temtronic
Joined: 01 Jul 2010 Posts: 9221 Location: Greensville,Ontario
|
|
Posted: Sun Apr 21, 2019 5:08 pm |
|
|
Don't know about Linux (too old to learn...) but going from 32bit to 64bit Windoze has been a real PITA !! I need a 2nd PC (32bit) to run most of the 'old' stuff I understand.....
I'm thinking since it worked in 32bit it has to be a 64bit problem... |
|
|
ghamblin
Joined: 02 Aug 2015 Posts: 38 Location: Tucson
|
|
Posted: Sun Apr 21, 2019 6:44 pm |
|
|
Thanks temtronic,
I'm going to go with that until proven otherwise.
Guess, I'll step back and do the PIC development on the old OS. _________________ -Glenn |
|
|
dluu13
Joined: 28 Sep 2018 Posts: 395 Location: Toronto, ON
|
|
Posted: Sun Apr 21, 2019 7:29 pm |
|
|
Why not email ccs support?
They are always responsive when I email. |
|
|
ghamblin
Joined: 02 Aug 2015 Posts: 38 Location: Tucson
|
|
Posted: Sun Aug 04, 2019 5:14 pm |
|
|
dluu13 wrote: | Why not email ccs support?
They are always responsive when I email. |
Hi dluu13,
Well, it's been since April now, and support has been zero help. They replied that it works, but I might need the 32-bit libraries. Well, I have the 32-bit libraries and all of my other 32-bit Linux software seems to be working fine. Not a peep since then. I recently contacted support again, and only received the automated response. I'm assuming they really don't support the Linux compilers.
I've been using CCS since the early 2000s, I used to use the IDE and the whole shooting match when I was forced to use Windows. I transitioned to Linux and all has worked fine until I had to upgrade to 64-bit to run some of my other software.
Perhaps it's time I transition over to a Microchip compiler. I used the HT compiler before Microchip bought it. Maybe it's still good.
Thanks for the suggestion anyway. _________________ -Glenn |
|
|
temtronic
Joined: 01 Jul 2010 Posts: 9221 Location: Greensville,Ontario
|
|
Posted: Sun Aug 04, 2019 6:52 pm |
|
|
OK, I have to ask WHY go to 64bit Linux ? You say everything is fine in 32bit mode so to me there's no real reason to migrate to 64bit.
Just curious why you need to upgrade ?
cause....'If it ain't broke, don't fix it'....
Jay |
|
|
jeremiah
Joined: 20 Jul 2010 Posts: 1345
|
|
Posted: Sun Aug 04, 2019 6:59 pm |
|
|
Most of the 32bit OS'es are losing support now adays. We aren't allowed to use 32bit operating systems unless it is a specialized targetted platform, and then it has to be documented with a risk mitigation plan, etc.. I can't speak for the OP, though. |
|
|
dluu13
Joined: 28 Sep 2018 Posts: 395 Location: Toronto, ON
|
|
Posted: Sun Aug 04, 2019 7:02 pm |
|
|
Not to mention the RAM limitations in 32 bit systems. You can't even reach 4gb.
Also, Windows 7 will be losing patch support in the coming year. Things are getting shaken up. |
|
|
ghamblin
Joined: 02 Aug 2015 Posts: 38 Location: Tucson
|
|
Posted: Sun Aug 04, 2019 8:21 pm |
|
|
temtronic wrote: | OK, I have to ask WHY go to 64bit Linux ? You say everything is fine in 32bit mode so to me there's no real reason to migrate to 64bit.
Just curious why you need to upgrade ?
cause....'If it ain't broke, don't fix it'....
Jay |
Jay, I have many other programs that will no longer run in 32bit Linux. Also, there is a lack of OS support as well. My other programs that are still 32bit have no problem running in the 64bit OS. So I'm trying to not have to either start a virtual machine, or reboot into my old 32bit OS just for the CCS compiler. As much as I hate switching compilers, MCs XC-8 seems to work with no problems. I just lose a lot of source code I've already written in CCS.
Glenn _________________ -Glenn |
|
|
Ttelmah
Joined: 11 Mar 2010 Posts: 19496
|
|
Posted: Mon Aug 05, 2019 4:26 am |
|
|
I must admit I'd have expected the 32bit libraries to have made it work.
Problem is that obviously this is pretty much only tested by CCS on one
install, and some tiny difference could be enough to make it give problems.
Whereas on the Windows version they get hundreds of users trying it,
the actual 'base' of Linux 64 users is probably rather small...
You say you have the 32bit libraries. You might need a chroot for it
possibly?. Have a look at:
<https://jblevins.org/log/ubuntu-chroot>
<https://debian-administration.org/article/356/Installing_apps_in_a_32-bit_chroot_in_AMD64_Debian_system> there are similar ways of doing this
on most Linux binaries.
My guess would be that there is some small part of the 'assumptions' made
by the compiler that is dependant on it's original install environment. |
|
|
ghamblin
Joined: 02 Aug 2015 Posts: 38 Location: Tucson
|
|
Posted: Mon Aug 05, 2019 6:52 am |
|
|
Thanks Ttelmah,
I'll look into that.
Glenn _________________ -Glenn |
|
|
ghamblin
Joined: 02 Aug 2015 Posts: 38 Location: Tucson
|
|
Posted: Sun Aug 11, 2019 8:42 pm |
|
|
So I made an attempt with chroot to the root directory of the 32bit OS that CCS is installed on. from the terminal, I attempted to run ccsc --version Here is the unfortunate result:
root@glenn-LX6820:/opt/picc# ccsc --version
Sorry, command-not-found has crashed! Please file a bug report at:
https://bugs.launchpad.net/command-not-found/+filebug
Please include the following information with the report:
command-not-found version: 0.3
Python version: 3.6.8 final 0
Distributor ID: Ubuntu
Description: Ubuntu 18.04.2 LTS
Release: 18.04
Codename: bionic
Exception information:
[Errno 13] Permission denied: '/dev/null'
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/lib/python3/dist-packages/CommandNotFound/util.py", line 23, in crash_guard
callback()
File "/usr/lib/command-not-found", line 90, in main
if not cnf.advise(args[0], options.ignore_installed) and not options.no_failure_msg:
File "/usr/lib/python3/dist-packages/CommandNotFound/CommandNotFound.py", line 353, in advise
snaps, mispell_snaps = self.get_snapsā
File "/usr/lib/python3/dist-packages/CommandNotFound/CommandNotFound.py", line 108, in get_snaps
with open(os.devnull) as devnull:
PermissionError: [Errno 13] Permission denied: '/dev/null'
Thought maybe I had to run it as root:
root@glenn-LX6820:/opt/picc# sudo ccsc --version
sudo: ccsc: command not found
root@glenn-LX6820:/opt/picc#
I'll keep trying, maybe I'm just missing something. _________________ -Glenn |
|
|
rickwalker
Joined: 09 Oct 2012 Posts: 2 Location: palo alto
|
|
Posted: Mon Dec 09, 2019 8:53 pm |
|
|
I just moved from Linux Centos7 to Ubuntu 19.1. My CCSC +FH binary crashes now with
!) ./ccsc.bin +fh
Runtime error 0 at FFD8FD54
Segmentation fault (core dumped)
I've installed as many lib32 compatibility libs as I can find and no luck.
I ordered a new version of the compiler, but after reading this thread it looks like it's not going to fix the problem. Is CCS planning to support this product on 64 bit linux, or is it time to move to an ARM with gcc or PIC32 using the Microchip compiler?
--
Rick Walker |
|
|
Ttelmah
Joined: 11 Mar 2010 Posts: 19496
|
|
Posted: Tue Dec 10, 2019 2:38 am |
|
|
Really, talk to CCS.
It is long enough now that they should have been able to work out what is
happening, and even if they can't reproduce the problem, if they can tell
you how their test system is configured, it will give hints as to what changes
may be needed. |
|
|
temtronic
Joined: 01 Jul 2010 Posts: 9221 Location: Greensville,Ontario
|
|
Posted: Tue Dec 10, 2019 6:21 am |
|
|
As Mr. T says, call CCS ! I'm guessing there aren't too many LINUX-CCS users, even fewer 64bit installs, so not a lot of time gets spent on it ? It could be some other program,ap, DLL, ?? is clobbering your setup so KNOWING what the CCS did is kinda important.
Heck, you might become an 'Alpha' tester and get a deal !
I'm assuming you HAVE to run 64Bit Linux ? If so that 'hurts' as you've spent a LOT of time on this when the 'regular Windows' version works fine.
Jay |
|
|
|