View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
vsmguy
Joined: 13 Jan 2007 Posts: 91
|
|
Posted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 10:23 am |
|
|
PWMWizard tells me to write :
set_pwm1_duty(500l);
for the above example...
but from what you said, I should call
set_pwm1_duty(124);
I have posted a new thread to this effect, could you (PCM) have a look at it ? |
|
|
jksor1234
Joined: 18 Jan 2007 Posts: 9
|
|
Posted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 8:01 am |
|
|
The L is needed to tell the compiler you want a 10-bit PWM... otherwise it will assume 8-bit.
From the equations I posted earlier, a 50% duty cycle needs a value of 125... set_pwm1_duty(125);
125 Dec = 0111 1101 Binary (an 8-bit number)
500 Dec = 01 1111 0100 Binary (a 10-bit number)
The 125 is just shifted left two, to make 500. Both values would set the PWM to 50%, except 500 would give the PWM 10-bits of accuracy and 125 would only give 8-bits. |
|
|
Aquila
Joined: 25 Feb 2007 Posts: 1 Location: Turkiye
|
|
Posted: Mon Mar 19, 2007 1:47 pm |
|
|
Hi I'm a student from mechanical engineering department. I don't know a lot of things about electronics. Could you tell me how can I build control circuit for two DC motor. I have to use 16f877; Motors are 12 V 550 rpm and one of them use 9-10 Ampere in start and full load. Must I use transistor or relay in this situation? I can't find any useful links:sad:
I'm sorry that I took your precious time
thanks... |
|
|
Ttelmah Guest
|
|
Posted: Mon Mar 19, 2007 3:39 pm |
|
|
What are you going to 'control'?. Just on/off, or speed?. Forward/reverse?. Braking?. The 'odds' are that you want all of these. In which case, the 'answer' is an 'H-bridge' drive.
Most of the robotics sites, will offer some information about these. Remember that the trap diodes are essential if you are not going to destroy electronics when the drives go 'off'. Look at the 'robotpower' site, for some off the shelf drives, in particular, the Scorpion XL, is commonly used in a lot of robotic designs this sort of size.
Best Wishes |
|
|
disenteako Guest
|
PWM |
Posted: Mon Jun 23, 2008 9:00 am |
|
|
jksor1234 wrote: | The L is needed to tell the compiler you want a 10-bit PWM... otherwise it will assume 8-bit.
From the equations I posted earlier, a 50% duty cycle needs a value of 125... set_pwm1_duty(125);
125 Dec = 0111 1101 Binary (an 8-bit number)
500 Dec = 01 1111 0100 Binary (a 10-bit number)
The 125 is just shifted left two, to make 500. Both values would set the PWM to 50%, except 500 would give the PWM 10-bits of accuracy and 125 would only give 8-bits. |
If i were to use a long for the pwm duty cycle, should i also now set the middle value of the
setup_timer_2(T2_DIV_BY_1, value, 1);
to 1000. Or leave it as it is with 250 and still be able to get a 10 bit resolution? Thanks |
|
|
PCM programmer
Joined: 06 Sep 2003 Posts: 21708
|
|
Posted: Mon Jun 23, 2008 11:41 am |
|
|
Quote: |
Should i also now set the middle value of setup_timer_2() to 1000 ? |
It can't be larger than 255. The hardware register is only 8 bits.
Quote: |
Or leave it as it is with 250 and still be able to get a 10 bit resolution? |
Keep it at 250.
Quote: | [will I] still be able to get 10-bit resolution? |
Yes.
Read the links in this thread that explain 10-bit mode.
http://www.ccsinfo.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=17729&start=12 |
|
|
killer_fighting
Joined: 22 Feb 2012 Posts: 9
|
|
Posted: Wed Feb 22, 2012 3:56 pm |
|
|
I am using PIC16F848A and I want to get 25kHz through PWM. How can I do that? |
|
|
PCM programmer
Joined: 06 Sep 2003 Posts: 21708
|
|
Posted: Wed Feb 22, 2012 5:17 pm |
|
|
1. There is no PIC with that part number. What's the real part number ?
2. What is the oscillator frequency of your PIC ? |
|
|
killer_fighting
Joined: 22 Feb 2012 Posts: 9
|
|
Posted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 2:19 am |
|
|
I am sorry. I am using PIC16F648A and my oscillator frequency is 4MHz. I would like to generate a 25 kHz PWM signal. |
|
|
Ttelmah
Joined: 11 Mar 2010 Posts: 19498
|
|
Posted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 2:43 am |
|
|
Data sheet. Data sheet. Data sheet.
Table 9-3 (just divide the frequencies by 5, since you are clocking at 4MHz, and the values in this are for 20MHz), and paragraph 9.3.1.
Yes you can get 25Khz. PR2=39. You will have a PWM range of 0 to 159. 7.3bits.
Best Wishes |
|
|
killer_fighting
Joined: 22 Feb 2012 Posts: 9
|
|
Posted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 3:29 am |
|
|
So I should write like that, right? Please refer to the bold part.
#include <16F648A.h>
#fuses XT, NOWDT, NOPROTECT, BROWNOUT, PUT, NOLVP
#use delay(clock = 4000000)
main()
{
output_low(PIN_B3); // Set CCP1 output low
setup_ccp1(CCP_PWM); // Configure CCP1 as a PWM
setup_timer_2(T2_DIV_BY_5, 39, 1); // 25kHz
set_pwm1_duty(31); // 25% duty cycle on pin C2
set_pwm2_duty(62); // 50% duty cycle on pin C1
while(1); // Prevent PIC from going to sleep (Important !)
}
Thanks for your help. Sorry, I am the beginner for PIC user. |
|
|
Ttelmah
Joined: 11 Mar 2010 Posts: 19498
|
|
Posted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 4:19 am |
|
|
No. 'T2_DIV_BY_5'. no such setting. Would give 5KHz anyway.
The point about the division by five I mention, is when _looking at the frequencies given by table 9-3_, the frequencies _you_ will get, will be 1/5 of the shown values, because the table is calculated for a 20MHz master clock.
T2_DIV_BY_1
Your 50%, and 25% values are a fraction high. 0 to 159. What is 1/2 and 1/4 of this?.
Also remember as has already been said in this thread several times to use the full resolution of the PWM generate, you _must_ have 'L' on the numbers if they are less than 255.
Best Wishes |
|
|
sheikh.alsheikh
Joined: 27 Apr 2018 Posts: 2 Location: Islamabad, Pakistan
|
|
Posted: Fri Jun 22, 2018 6:14 am |
|
|
thank you
i hope it works fine with me |
|
|
|