View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
asmallri
Joined: 12 Aug 2004 Posts: 1634 Location: Perth, Australia
|
|
Posted: Sat Feb 04, 2017 1:45 pm |
|
|
guy wrote: | Quote: | If you developing primarily within the CCS IDE then I think the CCS ICD would be a good solution. |
So asmallri I understand that you have good experience with this combination?
Can you write about other options / toolchains for which you use ICD?
As I said I need a new *stable* solution to develop with newer chips. We could cling to our old favorite PICs for a few years more but eventually we'll have to move on.
Recalling early MPLAB versions, I think it took version 5.70 and a decade for Microchip to get a stable IDE... |
I made a correction to my post. I use RealIce as my preferred debugger for Microchip controllers. Although I have used Microchip ICD2 and ICD3 in the past, I no longer use them. When I am traveling I will take a PicKit3 with me, otherwise I will use the RealICE. I have corrected my post.
The multiple vendors was a bit of a dig. Microchip's compiler are a mixed bag of products with different backgrounds. Flowcode and Arriba are both compatible with the RealICE. _________________ Regards, Andrew
http://www.brushelectronics.com/software
Home of Ethernet, SD card and Encrypted Serial Bootloaders for PICs!! |
|
|
rnielsen
Joined: 23 Sep 2003 Posts: 852 Location: Utah
|
|
Posted: Wed Feb 15, 2017 12:23 pm |
|
|
Hi guys,
I decided to get a PICkit 3 and give that a try. I bought a 'universal' 40 pin ZIF socket adapter along with it. Well, that adapter ended up being a piece of garbage. Not even remotely connecting up properly. I am trying to program a PIC16F77 in a PLCC package. Since the adapter was junk I ended up laying out and making my own. I've verified all of the signals are going to the correct pins, MCLR/VDD/VSS/DATA/CLOCK. I'm powering VDD with an external 5V source. I'm using MPLAB X IDE to program my .hex file to the PIC.
This is the output from MPLAB while trying to program it:
Quote: | *****************************************************
Connecting to MPLAB PICkit 3...
Currently loaded firmware on PICkit 3
Firmware Suite Version.....01.46.14
Firmware type..............Midrange
Programmer to target power is enabled - VDD = 5.000000 volts.
Target Device ID (0x0) is an Invalid Device ID. Please check your connections to the Target Device.
Device Erased...
Programming...
The following memory area(s) will be programmed:
program memory: start address = 0x0, end address = 0x6a5
configuration memory
program memory
Address: 0 Expected Value: 3000 Received Value: 0
Failed to program device
|
I have four parts that I've been trying to program and I'm not sure if I've blown them all when trying out the adapter I purchased. Maybe I'll need to buy new ones just in case.
Since I'm new to this programmer and using the MPLAB IDE maybe somebody that's more experienced with it can tell me what I'm doing wrong.
Ronald |
|
|
PCM programmer
Joined: 06 Sep 2003 Posts: 21708
|
|
Posted: Wed Feb 15, 2017 12:31 pm |
|
|
Here you say:
Quote: | I'm powering VDD with an external 5V source. | I assume that means the adapter board or the target board has its own
power supply. Like a PicDem2-Plus has a 9vdc power adapter and it
plugs into the board, which has a 7805 regulator on it.
But this message says the Pickit3 is setup to provide +5v to the target:
Quote: | Programmer to target power is enabled - VDD = 5.000000 volts. |
You should not enable Pickit3 to provide power (there is a tickbox for it)
if the target board provides its own power.
Your problem is basically a Microchip Pickit3 problem and should be
solved on their board. Use Google to search for this (with the quotes):
Quote: | "Target Device ID (0x0) is an Invalid Device ID" |
There are many threads on this topic. |
|
|
rnielsen
Joined: 23 Sep 2003 Posts: 852 Location: Utah
|
|
Posted: Wed Feb 15, 2017 12:57 pm |
|
|
Ah yes, I did enable the programmer to supply the 5V while I was experimenting with the original target board and forgot to disable it but that pin, on my own target board, is not connected so the Pickit is not supplying the 5V. And yes, the target board does have it's own 5V connected.
EDIT:
I disabled the Pickit power option and MPLAB said it couldn't detect VDD. So my brain told me, "You IDIOT! You need VDD connected so the pickit can detect if the target board is powered up". So, I connected the VDD pin to the target board VDD and now it detects the 5V. Still, I'm getting the same error...
Ronald |
|
|
rnielsen
Joined: 23 Sep 2003 Posts: 852 Location: Utah
|
Programmer opinion request : Solved |
Posted: Wed Feb 15, 2017 3:40 pm |
|
|
I'm not sure if I selected to install the IPE along with the IDE when I initially installed MPLAB so I uninstalled it and re-installed it with both IDE & IPE selected. It's now working properly. Gremlins???
Thanks!
Ronald |
|
|
johnl
Joined: 30 Sep 2003 Posts: 120
|
Programmer to use? |
Posted: Tue Feb 15, 2022 12:54 pm |
|
|
Pickit 3 no longer available, though Olimex sells a clone (Digikey 1188-1066-ND) Any good?
What are other cheap options?
We just need a cheap programmer (for small production runs) that supports 16F18323.
Compatible with Mplab IPE (or other free software.) |
|
|
temtronic
Joined: 01 Jul 2010 Posts: 9221 Location: Greensville,Ontario
|
|
Posted: Tue Feb 15, 2022 1:21 pm |
|
|
That high a number of PIC, PK3 may not support it ?
Must be a 'list of supported' devices 'somewhere' in the PK3 literature. |
|
|
johnl
Joined: 30 Sep 2003 Posts: 120
|
|
|
temtronic
Joined: 01 Jul 2010 Posts: 9221 Location: Greensville,Ontario
|
|
Posted: Tue Feb 15, 2022 2:02 pm |
|
|
BTDT got 'bit' a few times...
lots of neat, new PICs I'd like to play with then...oopsy, can't program them.
Have older versions of PCM, old MPLAB, and a couple PK3s.....
so you have a couple of options...
1) choose another 'older' PIC, that the PK3 likes...
2) buy a newer programmer (PK4 ???)
I admit, I'm a dinosaur. I like my PIC18F46K22,Does what I want it to.Over he years I've made a library of working code for peripherals.Yes, it's waay more PIC than needed for 99.44% of the projects,but always nice to have a few extra pins.and guts..
One thing about 'new' PICs. Some haven't been fully, field tested. May have bugs inside or the compiler isn't correct.'errate' will show the HW issues, and I have no idea how CCS tests every feature of every PIC to work in every combination...... |
|
|
johnl
Joined: 30 Sep 2003 Posts: 120
|
|
Posted: Tue Feb 15, 2022 2:39 pm |
|
|
I was using a 16f636, but it got expensive and this project is for educational (as in "cheap") use. The newer 18323 one is almost half the price and ran the code. Ha... but now they'll need a $300 programmer (ICD4)!
I can program it with my ICD 3, but I can't donate it to the cause. |
|
|
asmallri
Joined: 12 Aug 2004 Posts: 1634 Location: Perth, Australia
|
|
Posted: Tue Feb 15, 2022 8:05 pm |
|
|
johnl wrote: | The newer 18323 one is almost half the price and ran the code. Ha... but now they'll need a $300 programmer (ICD4)! |
They can use the far cheaper Pickit4. _________________ Regards, Andrew
http://www.brushelectronics.com/software
Home of Ethernet, SD card and Encrypted Serial Bootloaders for PICs!! |
|
|
johnl
Joined: 30 Sep 2003 Posts: 120
|
|
Posted: Tue Feb 15, 2022 8:20 pm |
|
|
asmallri wrote: | johnl wrote: | The newer 18323 one is almost half the price and ran the code. Ha... but now they'll need a $300 programmer (ICD4)! |
They can use the far cheaper Pickit4. |
Ahh... didn't know about this one. It looks like it will work with Mplab IPE, too.
I've been avoiding MPLAB X. Too complicated and unreliable.
Thanks. |
|
|
temtronic
Joined: 01 Jul 2010 Posts: 9221 Location: Greensville,Ontario
|
|
Posted: Wed Feb 16, 2022 6:03 am |
|
|
Better check STOCK ! I looked and Digikey Canada had ZERO, though that was an SMD version...
Yet another consideration..but a HUGE piece of the puzzle !! Decide how many you need, add 10%, look at volume pricing.
Maybe another PIC, 'bigger', in stock, only 50c more is a better choice ??
No such thing as the 'perfect PIC'...
options, always look at options. |
|
|
johnl
Joined: 30 Sep 2003 Posts: 120
|
|
Posted: Wed Feb 16, 2022 10:36 am |
|
|
temtronic wrote: | Better check STOCK ! |
Yes, already ordered the next one up, the 16F18324. Thanks for looking into it.
Now for the task of migrating code from the PIC16F636, but that will most likely be a new thread |
|
|
jaka
Joined: 04 May 2014 Posts: 35 Location: Finland
|
|
Posted: Wed Feb 16, 2022 2:03 pm |
|
|
You can use PICkit2 or PICkit3 to program 16F18323 and 16F18324, with my free PICkit- software. |
|
|
|