View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
W_Schauberg
Joined: 17 Sep 2009 Posts: 16
|
PICDEM 2 PLUS - max 232 |
Posted: Fri Dec 06, 2013 6:47 am |
|
|
Hi.
Am making one software for PC - PCB serial connection so i was thinking on using PICDEM as some test board. I have 16F628 chip on this board.
It's been few years since i worked with this board but i guess it should be straightforward. To make this communication working all i need is to plug in the serial cable into PICDEM board, or do i need to make some board modifications ?
The PC program sends one byte of data each minute.
baud => 9600,
bits => 8,
stop => 1,
parity => 0,
flow_control' => 0
V. |
|
|
ezflyr
Joined: 25 Oct 2010 Posts: 1019 Location: Tewksbury, MA
|
|
Posted: Fri Dec 06, 2013 7:38 am |
|
|
Hi,
That board does have a MAX232 IC installed, so you should be all set from a hardware standpoint. I would try to send data from the PIC to the PC first to
verify that your hardware is basically working. Once that's OK, go the other way!
It looks like J18 and J19 need to be installed on the PIC DEM 2 Plus board!
John |
|
|
Ttelmah
Joined: 11 Mar 2010 Posts: 19495
|
|
Posted: Fri Dec 06, 2013 8:14 am |
|
|
I have a sneaking memory, that using the 18 pin device, you have to 'transfer wire'. Make J18, and J19. These connect the MAX232, to the TXD, and RXD pins on the 40 pin, and 28 pin sockets. Then you have to do two link wires. One from pin 26 on the 40 pin socket to pin 34 on the same socket. The second from pin 25 to pin 34 on the same socket. Basically when this board was done, 18 pin devices didn't have UART's, so the connection was not made to the 18pin device. The connections link RB1, and RB2 (RXD & TXD), to the RXD & TXD pins the MAX232 connects to.
Maximum speed you can use will depend on what crystal you have (Y1) This varies between units. However unless very slow, the unit will be able to go much faster than 9600bps.
Best Wishes |
|
|
W_Schauberg
Joined: 17 Sep 2009 Posts: 16
|
|
Posted: Sat Dec 07, 2013 5:48 am |
|
|
Thnx for reply.
I have one 16C745 - 28 pin.
Can i use this without additional changes on the board ?
According to 16c745 datasheet this should work without changes. |
|
|
Ttelmah
Joined: 11 Mar 2010 Posts: 19495
|
|
Posted: Sat Dec 07, 2013 9:14 am |
|
|
Yes just make the two jumpers. |
|
|
Rocket
Joined: 29 Aug 2005 Posts: 27
|
|
Posted: Sun Dec 08, 2013 8:29 am |
|
|
Make sure you get the code right the first time if you have only 1 OTP device. _________________ J.I.L. |
|
|
|