View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
anuragtiwari
Joined: 01 Aug 2013 Posts: 8
|
urgent help on user programmable countdown timer....please.. |
Posted: Thu Aug 01, 2013 2:26 pm |
|
|
hello experts ......
I am a newbie so..please don't mind if the question is awkward..
Actually i need to design a countdown timer that has three buttons ...
start/stop, clear and increment_minutes.
The time required is in multiples of minute ...
My problem is that i am not able to hack into the timer interrupt service routine using buttons from main().
My code is.....
Code: | #include <16f684.h> //1 minute preprogrammed delay
#use delay(clock=4M)
#fuses NOMCLR,INTRC
#define LED1 PIN_C0
#define START_STOP (input(PIN_A3))
#define INCREMENTS 30
unsigned int16 timer1_counter=0;
int1 timer1_flag;
int1 _LED1 = 0;
unsigned int16 set_timer(void);
#INT_TIMER1
void timer1_isr(void)
{ timer1_counter++;
if(timer1_counter>=144) // trips in 1 minute
{timer1_counter=0;
timer1_flag=TRUE;
_LED1 ^= 1;
output_bit(LED1,_LED1);
}
}
void main()
{ unsigned int16 seconds_counter;
int minutes;
int seconds;
setup_oscillator(OSC_4MHZ);
output_c(0x00);
setup_timer_1(T1_INTERNAL|T1_DIV_BY_8);
set_timer1(3643);
while(!START_STOP==0);
enable_interrupts(INT_TIMER1);
enable_interrupts(GLOBAL);
while(true)
{
if(timer1_flag) // at this point of the code i need to provide
// the buttons to increment the cont time of
// timer..
// e.g. if(input(PIN_A5)==1)
// timer1_counter>=288;
//its not working at all..i have tried this..
{ timer1_flag = 0;
}
while(TRUE);
}
} |
|
|
|
Gabriel
Joined: 03 Aug 2009 Posts: 1067 Location: Panama
|
|
Posted: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:54 pm |
|
|
Just an Idea:
you could use this:
http://www.ccsinfo.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=26177&highlight=zero+drift
and then use your Buttons to alter the time registers independently on your main loop.
have it poll your buttons and clear, increment, decrease etc... all or individual time registers..
G. _________________ CCS PCM 5.078 & CCS PCH 5.093 |
|
|
anuragtiwari
Joined: 01 Aug 2013 Posts: 8
|
|
Posted: Thu Aug 01, 2013 9:07 pm |
|
|
the link to the code that you provided doesn't have a button interface to increment or decrement the timer values... please help me out.... |
|
|
dyeatman
Joined: 06 Sep 2003 Posts: 1933 Location: Norman, OK
|
|
Posted: Thu Aug 01, 2013 9:11 pm |
|
|
How soon is your project due? _________________ Google and Forum Search are some of your best tools!!!! |
|
|
anuragtiwari
Joined: 01 Aug 2013 Posts: 8
|
|
Posted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 1:30 am |
|
|
@dyeatman
sir...
please help me regarding the countdown timer project ...its urgently required by this monday....please...... |
|
|
asmboy
Joined: 20 Nov 2007 Posts: 2128 Location: albany ny
|
|
Posted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 6:30 am |
|
|
you only do this ONCE in your MAIN setup ,
yet take no action based on the timer rollover?
What is the purpose of that line of code ??
also
Code: |
unsigned int16 set_timer(void);
|
|
|
|
Gabriel
Joined: 03 Aug 2009 Posts: 1067 Location: Panama
|
|
Posted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 7:26 am |
|
|
Quote: | you provided doesn't have a button interface to increment or decrement the timer values |
........... eventually you will have to code something.
ive provided you to a known-to-work timer code.
thats over 50% of your project. _________________ CCS PCM 5.078 & CCS PCH 5.093 |
|
|
anuragtiwari
Joined: 01 Aug 2013 Posts: 8
|
|
Posted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 10:03 am |
|
|
guys , i made some changes in the code but its still hanging up... the output on pin_ A0 flips every 1 minute but PIN_A5 also goes high simultaneously with PIN_A0 .. what to do
Code: | #include <16f684.h> //1 minute preprogrammed delay
#use delay(clock=4M)
#fuses NOMCLR
#define LED1 PIN_C0
#define START_STOP (input(PIN_A3))
#define INCREMENTS 1
unsigned int16 timer1_counter=0;
int1 timer1_flag;
int1 _LED1 = 0;
unsigned int16 tick_counter=0; // to count how many counts of 1 minute tick have occured
int8 p;
#INT_TIMER1
void timer1_isr(void)
{ timer1_counter++;
if(timer1_counter>=144) // ticks per 1 minute
{timer1_counter=0;
timer1_flag=TRUE;
_LED1 ^= 1;
output_bit(LED1,_LED1);
tick_counter++;
if(tick_counter>=p)
output_high(PIN_C5);
}
}
main()
{ unsigned int16 seconds_counter;
int8 p;
setup_oscillator(OSC_4MHZ);
output_c(0x00);
setup_timer_1(T1_INTERNAL|T1_DIV_BY_8);
set_timer1(3643);
while(START_STOP==1);
enable_interrupts(INT_TIMER1);
enable_interrupts(GLOBAL);
while(true)
{
if(timer1_flag==1)
{ timer1_flag = 0;
}
if(input(PIN_A1)==0)
p+=INCREMENTS;
while(TRUE);
} return p;
} |
|
|
|
alan
Joined: 12 Nov 2012 Posts: 357 Location: South Africa
|
|
Posted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 10:14 am |
|
|
Your p+= INCREMENTS are outside your timer1_flag test. Thus increments every loop instead of when timer1_flag is set.
Regards |
|
|
anuragtiwari
Joined: 01 Aug 2013 Posts: 8
|
|
Posted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 9:43 pm |
|
|
help me guys to interface a button with timer..... |
|
|
Mike Walne
Joined: 19 Feb 2004 Posts: 1785 Location: Boston Spa UK
|
|
Posted: Sun Aug 04, 2013 3:41 am |
|
|
Your deadline's tomorrow, but you're not helping either yourself or us.
Quote: | guys , i made some changes in the code but its still hanging up... the output on pin_ A0 flips every 1 minute but PIN_A5 also goes high simultaneously with PIN_A0 .. what to do
|
In your code you're operating on pins C0 and C5, NOT A0 and A5. Just confusing, shows lack of care and attention to detail.
You provide no explanation of where various constants come from. eg
Code: | if(timer1_counter>=144) // ticks per 1 minute
.
.
.
.
set_timer1(3643); |
Indentaton is all over the place so it's difficult to see where the loops are.
You don't tell us which way round your buttons are connected.
(Is 0 the pressed or released condition?)
Is the start/stop intended to be a toggle or hold down to run?
How do you indicate either the value of variable 'p' or 'minutes to run'?
Where is 'clear' button connected?
What do you think this section of code does?
Code: | while(START_STOP==1);
enable_interrupts(INT_TIMER1);
enable_interrupts(GLOBAL);
while(true)
{
if(timer1_flag==1)
{ timer1_flag = 0;
}
if(input(PIN_A1)==0)
p+=INCREMENTS;
while(TRUE);
} return p; |
What's supposed to happen when START_STOP==0?
It's difficult to know where to begin, without doing it all for you.
Mike |
|
|
|