View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
lboghy
Joined: 04 Jun 2008 Posts: 23
|
how to use serial without #use rs232 |
Posted: Sat Sep 01, 2012 4:10 am |
|
|
Hello,
I'm using a PIC18f25k20 and I want that RC6 (TX HW pin) to be at initialisation an input. I connected 100kohm to VDD and a 10kohms to ground. If 10 kohms is connected to ground that means that is on "0" logic and on the program will do something - if 10kohms is not connected to ground that means that is "1" logic and the program should do something else...
1. set the direction as input <trisc6 = 1>
2. see if 10kohms is connected or not to ground
3. set the direction as output.
Code: |
TRISC = 0XC0; // sets the RC6 as input
if (JMP4) //JMP4 is RC6
{
WF_TYPE = SWITCH_WF;
}
else
{
WF_TYPE = THERMO_WF;
}
|
I found that it doesn't matter if 10kohms is connected or not to ground - the voltage is VDD -as idle of the #use232. So, it never can be seen if the 10k ohms are or not connected to the ground.
How can I set the serial after this test?
Hope that someone understand my problem.
Thank you. |
|
|
Ttelmah
Joined: 11 Mar 2010 Posts: 19498
|
|
Posted: Sat Sep 01, 2012 4:20 am |
|
|
#USE RS232(UART1, BAUD=0, ERRORS)
Then when you want to use the RS232, use
setup_uart(9600);
or whatever the baud you want.
Setting baud=0, tells the compiler to generate the code, _but not initialise the UART, or TRIS_.
When you use 'setup_uart' with a baud rate, the UART is initialised.
setup_uart(0);
switches the UART back off.
Best Wishes |
|
|
FvM
Joined: 27 Aug 2008 Posts: 2337 Location: Germany
|
|
Posted: Sat Sep 01, 2012 4:21 am |
|
|
|
|
|
lboghy
Joined: 04 Jun 2008 Posts: 23
|
not work |
Posted: Sat Sep 01, 2012 4:56 am |
|
|
Hello!
thank you for responses.
I used:
Code: |
setup_uart(0);
TRISC = 0XC0; // sets the RC6 as input
if (JMP4)
{
WF_TYPE = SWITCH_WF;
}
else
{
WF_TYPE = THERMO_WF;
}
TRISC = 0X80;
setup_uart(57600);
|
But is reset at every 2-3 seconds....
I put also #use 232(0,...) and the same result - is reseting every 2-3 seconds.
Have you any idea.
Thank you very much. |
|
|
temtronic
Joined: 01 Jul 2010 Posts: 9221 Location: Greensville,Ontario
|
|
Posted: Sat Sep 01, 2012 5:17 am |
|
|
Without seeing your whole program it sounds like you have the WatchDogTimer enabled but are not handling it correctly..
that's my guess
hth
jay |
|
|
lboghy
Joined: 04 Jun 2008 Posts: 23
|
|
Posted: Sat Sep 01, 2012 6:32 am |
|
|
Ok, here is the code,
On .c file:
Code: | TRISC = 0XC0; // sets the RC6 as input
if (JMP4)
{
WF_TYPE = SWITCH_WF;
}
else
{
WF_TYPE = THERMO_WF;
}
TRISC = 0X80;
setup_uart(57600);
//end procedure
delay_ms(20);
while(1)
{
if(WF_TYPE == THERMO_WF)
printf("It was selectedd the thermo...");
else
printf("It was selectedd the switch...");
} |
at header is:
Code: |
#include <18F25K20.h>
#include "SFR.h"
#device adc=10 // 10 bits ADCs results
//#device adc=8 // 8 bits ADCs results
#FUSES NOWDT //No Watch Dog Timer
#FUSES WDT1024 //Watch Dog Timer uses 1:128 Postscale
#FUSES INTRC_IO //Internal RC Osc, no CLKOUT
#FUSES NOPROTECT //Code not protected from reading
#FUSES BROWNOUT //Reset when brownout detected
#FUSES BORV20 //Brownout reset at 1.8V
#FUSES PUT //Power Up Timer
#FUSES NOCPD //No EE protection
#FUSES STVREN //Stack full/underflow will cause reset
#FUSES NODEBUG //No Debug mode for ICD
#FUSES NOLVP //Low Voltage Programming on B3(PIC16) or B5(PIC18)
#FUSES NOWRT //Program memory not write protected
#FUSES NOWRTD //Data EEPROM not write protected
#FUSES NOIESO //Internal External Switch Over mode enabled
#FUSES NOFCMEN //Fail-safe clock monitor enabled
#FUSES NOPBADEN //PORTB pins are configured as analog input channels on RESET
#FUSES NOWRTC //configuration not registers write protected
#FUSES NOWRTB //Boot block not write protected
#FUSES NOEBTR //Memory not protected from table reads
#FUSES NOEBTRB //Boot block not protected from table reads
#FUSES NOCPB //No Boot Block code protection
#FUSES LPT1OSC //Timer1 configured for low-power operation
#FUSES MCLR //Master Clear pin enabled
#FUSES NOXINST //Extended set extension and Indexed Addressing mode disabled (Legacy mode)
#FUSES NODELAYINTOSC
#use delay(clock=4000000)
//#use rs232(baud=57600,parity=N,xmit=PIN_C6,rcv=PIN_C7,bits=8)
#use rs232(UART1, baud=0)
//#USE RS232(UART1, BAUD=0, ERRORS)
|
In SFR.h file I defined the TRISC, TRISB...
Thank you |
|
|
asmboy
Joined: 20 Nov 2007 Posts: 2128 Location: albany ny
|
|
Posted: Mon Sep 03, 2012 3:51 pm |
|
|
Quote: |
In SFR.h file I defined the TRISC, TRISB...
|
that is nice BUT
did you ALSO
#USE Fast_io(B)
#USE Fast_io(C)
??? |
|
|
Ttelmah
Joined: 11 Mar 2010 Posts: 19498
|
|
Posted: Tue Sep 04, 2012 2:07 am |
|
|
Further comment:
The code posted, is not complete so it can be compiled. Unless you post enough to make the code compilable, we can never tell there is not a 'hidden beastie' causing the problem. You need to just simplify down to a minimum program showing the problem, and post it.
Second comment, there is no need to define TRIS. If you want to control the TRIS registers, then use the compiler set_tris_x functions. They are already there. However for 99% of code there is no need to ever touch TRIS with the CCS compiler, and more often than not, doing so, leads to problems, rather than making things work.....
Best Wishes |
|
|
|