View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
veerabahu
Joined: 20 Aug 2013 Posts: 16
|
Want CCS driver for VGA monitor |
Posted: Sat Apr 26, 2014 12:18 am |
|
|
Hi everyone,
I need ccs driver for vga monitor. I googled for this but i couldn't find more info about the code. Can somebody please help me in this?
Thanks in advance |
|
|
Ttelmah
Joined: 11 Mar 2010 Posts: 19499
|
|
Posted: Sat Apr 26, 2014 12:59 am |
|
|
You are not going to drive an entire VGA display from a PIC. A basic VGA picture, is 640*480*16colours, so 153600bytes of data. Look at the RAM sizes of PIC's....
Now, as has been mentioned in another thread, there are PIC24's, with display hardware to drive LCD's at this sort of resolution, and one from this sort of family could potentially drive a VGA display (with a lot of added hardware - you need to take the image line by line from the display memory, and clock it out to the display - not a software problem, but down to hardware).
However, you can do 'VGA overlay' with a typical PIC, where an existing VGA picture is taken, and the PIC then adds a little text or something similar 'over the top' of this picture. This way the existing VGA hardware already develops the picture, and all the PIC has to do is turn on/off particular pixels at particular locations on the display. Again needs significant hardware (there has to be a circuit to detect the flyback, and frame signals etc..).
Look at:
<http://electronics-home-projects.tripod.com/>
<http://www.rickard.gunee.com/projects/video/pic/howto.php>
There are also chips specifically to do this (STV5730A for example), which can be driven by a PIC. |
|
|
bkamen
Joined: 07 Jan 2004 Posts: 1615 Location: Central Illinois, USA
|
|
Posted: Mon Apr 28, 2014 8:35 am |
|
|
There's also the PIC24FJ256DA210 family that has a video controller built in (with separate video RAM)
Check out the datasheet... It might work for you -- but I think for Analog VGA, it would need a Video DAC.
-Ben _________________ Dazed and confused? I don't think so. Just "plain lost" will do. :D |
|
|
temtronic
Joined: 01 Jul 2010 Posts: 9221 Location: Greensville,Ontario
|
|
Posted: Mon Apr 28, 2014 10:34 am |
|
|
Another way is to have the PIC drive an ISA 8 bit VGA graphics card. Kinda 'old school' but it does work (BTDT). All you do is have the PIC send the datastream to the card, it does all the 'hard stuff' like timing and memory....
There are 'off the shelf' solutions, updated from what I suggest, it all depends on time and money. How much time you have, how much you want to spend!
hth
jay |
|
|
|