View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
iseron
Joined: 21 Feb 2004 Posts: 12 Location: Santiago - Chile
|
detect pin (input) jumped to anoter pin (output) |
Posted: Sat May 15, 2004 10:41 pm |
|
|
Hi.
I have to deliver a project in 2 more days and my client asked me about a jumper configuration.
The hardware is done, and i have a PIC16F877 with 4 pins who can be easily jumped or short circuited.
The pins are RA2, RA3, RA4 and RA5 free to do anything.
What happen if i short circuit for example the RA5 with RA4?
What happen if RA4 is configured like an output 1 and RA5 is configured like an input.
Can i do a While instruction without burn the microcontroller?
An example is better...
I have all the routines done, but my need if i have input signal (RA5 for ex.) like a "1" or VCC y can do a specific routine (before was called by rs232 console).
Thanks in advance.
Ignacio. |
|
|
valemike Guest
|
|
Posted: Sun May 16, 2004 1:55 pm |
|
|
Well, the PIC starts off as all inputs. Just make sure you don't configure them both as outputs by accident. Better yet, put a current limiting resistor between them just in case.
I don't see why you'd want to shoot a logic level out on RA5 and read it back on RA4, since your program will already know that RA5 is supposed to be high. |
|
|
iseron
Joined: 21 Feb 2004 Posts: 12 Location: Santiago - Chile
|
|
Posted: Sun May 16, 2004 2:28 pm |
|
|
Let me explain better.
I have 2 routines programmed.
Now i can choose to run those routines in RS232 console mode. If a press number 1 ---> routine N�1 press number 2 --> routine N�2
Now, i want to run the routine N�1 if i have a jumper ( short circuit) between RA4 and RA5 for example.
Else run routine N�2.
Can i do that? The pic can be burn?
I can't do new modifications to the PCB...
Thanks in advance. |
|
|
|