View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
hhoebel Guest
|
Debugging with MPLAB6.3 and ICD2 |
Posted: Thu Jul 17, 2003 9:36 am |
|
|
I'm wondering how i can debug a project using more than one source-file. I've using a project with several files which i all include in the main-souce-file due to that missing linker.
My problem is that MPLAB can't set breakpoints in the source-code of the included files. I get always a "breakpoint can't be resolved". Any idea how i can get around this?
regards,
Heiko Hoebel
___________________________
This message was ported from CCS's old forum
Original Post ID: 144516101 |
|
|
Guest
|
|
Posted: Wed Sep 10, 2003 10:41 pm |
|
|
I have the same problem. Can't resolve breakpoints. I have PCWH 3.174 and MPLAB 6.3. I have sometimes been able to set breakpoints but usually not. I can't figure out what the sequence was that made it work. It's very frustrating to continue to have these problems considering how long both CCS and MPLAB have been around. |
|
|
Daniel R Page Guest
|
Breakpoint problem |
Posted: Thu Oct 09, 2003 6:20 pm |
|
|
Anonymous wrote: | I have the same problem. Can't resolve breakpoints. I have PCWH 3.174 and MPLAB 6.3. I have sometimes been able to set breakpoints but usually not. I can't figure out what the sequence was that made it work. It's very frustrating to continue to have these problems considering how long both CCS and MPLAB have been around. |
I have the same problem too. Just sent an email to CCS support. Did you guys find an answer?
|
|
|
tobyboreham
Joined: 08 Oct 2003 Posts: 4
|
|
Posted: Fri Oct 10, 2003 3:43 am |
|
|
I have also got this problem, and have emailed CCS support! |
|
|
Guest
|
|
Posted: Fri Oct 10, 2003 9:02 am |
|
|
tobyboreham wrote: | I have also got this problem, and have emailed CCS support! |
I think I have the solution.
I changed the output file format of the compiler from COFF to Enhanced COD and everything seems to work now!
I am still waiting for a reply from CCS. |
|
|
tobyboreham
Joined: 08 Oct 2003 Posts: 4
|
|
Posted: Tue Oct 14, 2003 4:49 pm |
|
|
I may have figured this out...
From the PICC workspace, open your main source file, then select tools->MPLAB
Open the new MPLAB project file that appears on your source directory.
Go to Project->Build Options->
Select the main c source file (not the global project setting)
Select list file as normal CCS, debug file as COFF. Press OK.
Make sure that compile for use with ICD debugger is checked.
It should now be able to resolve the breakpoints. |
|
|
ProgGuy
Joined: 08 Oct 2003 Posts: 4
|
|
Posted: Tue Oct 28, 2003 1:48 pm |
|
|
I used the same settings as tobyboreham and was still having trouble.
I kept his settings and instead of doing a "build all" in MPLAB i right clicked on my main program file in the project tree and chose compile. Now it's setting breakpoints in any file I include from my main file. Using "build all" which has the same command line as compile never works for me.. Could anybody else verify this? |
|
|
Guest
|
|
Posted: Wed Oct 29, 2003 3:52 pm |
|
|
I had this reply from CCS tech support:
"We have confirmed that the coff file is correct and it is an MPLAB IDE issue that the breakpoints are not validated and allowed on all source lines. You would need to contact Microchip about it.
Thanks CCS Tech Support" |
|
|
karth
Joined: 10 Sep 2003 Posts: 29
|
i had the same problem |
Posted: Sat Nov 01, 2003 8:22 pm |
|
|
this works for me:
set a break point on the main source file that calls a function from the include source file.
once it halt at that break point press F7 (single step)
now the pointer will be on the include source file then set the break point any where within that file |
|
|
MarkD
Joined: 09 Sep 2003 Posts: 3 Location: Toronto, Canada
|
|
Posted: Mon Nov 03, 2003 9:23 am |
|
|
I called Microchip support about this problem. They told me to use the use the disassembly window (VIEW-> disassembly) and set breakpoint there. This works very well. Also, I switched to MPLAB 6.31 which is much better than 6.30.
Mark |
|
|
Guest
|
|
Posted: Sat Jan 24, 2004 9:24 am |
|
|
Debugger -> COFF file has made the trick for me
until then the disassembly window just showed spurious ASM code and I was not able to trace the code but in the program window.
half day wasted, I've been lucky. Thanks for the input. |
|
|
adam
Joined: 25 Jan 2004 Posts: 1
|
|
Posted: Sun Jan 25, 2004 12:09 pm |
|
|
Experienced the problem of breakpoints refusing to work at all in MPLAB. Discovered that there seems to be a path length issue. I'd previously discovered this with MPLAB anyway, but using CCS seems to be be tighter. Moved the project directory higher up the drive and breakpoints started working. |
|
|
|